Dr Myles Coolican specialises in arthroscopic and reconstructive surgery of the knee. He has particular interests in total knee replacement and anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction. He performs these surgeries at Royal North Shore, North Shore Private and the Mater Misericordiae Hospitals in Sydney.


Dr David Parker specialises in surgery of the knee joint, with particular interests in arthroscopic surgery, ligament reconstruction and knee replacement. He performs these surgeries at Royal North Shore, North Shore Private and the Mater Misericordiae Hospitals in Sydney.


Neil, has worked in the media industry for over 45 years previously holding the position of Executive Chairman of the Southern Star Group which he founded.  Neil was the Chairman of Ardent Leisure Group, one of Australia's most successful owners and operators of premium leisure assets, from 2003 until November 2016.  He is the Chancellor of Charles Darwin University, a Trustee Member of Bond University and in 2009 received an Honorary Doctorate of the University.  Neil is a Director of the Sydney Orthopaedic Research Institute, a member of the Advisory Council and Dean’s Circle of the University of New South Wales (Faculty of Medicine) and in 2010 received an Honorary Doctorate of the University.

Neil is a Board member of the Art Gallery of South Australia, a Director of Technicolor Australia Limited, serves on numerous advisory and community organisations and is a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  Neil’s former directorships include Hanna-Barbera Australia, Reed Consolidated Industries, Hamlyn Group, Taft Hardie and Southern Cross Broadcasting.

In 2006 Neil established The Balnaves Foundation, a philanthropic fund that disperses more than $2.5 million annually in supporting eligible organisations that aim to create a better Australia through education, medicine, and the arts with a focus on young people, the disadvantaged and Indigenous communities.

In 2010 Neil was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for his services to business and philanthropy.

Mrs. Jennifer BOTT AO

Jennifer Bott is a professional mentor, board member, project manager and consultant. She is the Chair of the National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA) and Advisor, Innovation and Development at the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House. She also serves as a Trustee of the Australian Museum, Director of the Bundanon Trust and is a board member of the Sydney Orthopedic Research Institute, the Canberra Writers Festival and the NIDA Foundation Trust.
During 2013/14, Jenny served as Acting Director and then Special Advisor at the National Portrait Gallery of Australia.  Prior to this she conducted a major review of External Relations for the Art Gallery of New South Wales as well as the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute.
In 2017, she undertook a feasibility study, commissioned by the Townsville City Council for a new concert hall/cultural complex in Townsville.
She was Chief Executive of the University of New South Wales Foundation from 2006 to October 2012. The Foundation generates philanthropic income for the University from business, foundations, alumni and other sources and built its annual fundraising income from $5M in 2006 to over $24M in 2012.
Jenny was awarded an AO in 2012 for distinguished service to the arts through executive and leadership roles in national cultural organisations, and to the development of policy reform initiatives promoting funding and best practice.


Mr. Scott Furby has a distinguised career in the field of finance, including:

    • Former partner of PwC - retired in February 2009.
    • Held a variety of senior roles within PwC over past 30 years
    • Worked on numerous high profile client assignments in Europe, Australia and SE Asia .
    • Has extensive operational and financial management skills over a broad range of industries.

Since retiring has undertaken several pro bono roles including working :

    • with the Board of the SUFC Foundation
    • as a member of the Sydney University Medical School Dean’s Finance & Administration advisory committee
    • as an ad hoc member of  Sydney University’s gift acceptance committee
    • as a current Board member of SORI

In 2014, Scott was appointed by the dean as an Honorary Fellow of the Faculty of the Sydney University Medical School.

Prof. Tony PARKER

As a board member, Professor Parker plays a key role in ensuring the research activities of SORI are of the highest standard.

With his role at QUT, Tony is involved in a number of research projects, in the supervision of postgraduate students, and as a lecturer in undergraduate studies.

Tony has worked for more than 30 years to develop and enhance the status of the field of Sports Medicine and Exercise and Sports Science in Australia and Internationally. This has involved an extensive of leadership roles in the University sector and national and international organisations.

He has also been applying the knowledge gained in exercise science and sports medicine to occupational medicine with extensive experience in leadership involving large multidisciplinary and industry linked research projects in the areas of occupational health involving the maritime industry, emergency services and mining. The results and outputs of this research have directly influenced industry and government policy and have been applied to the development of new strategies for injury prevention and health enhancement in these industries.

He is currently leader of the Workforce Health Innovation research group at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) Institute for Health and Biomedical Innovation (IHBI). Current projects focus on priority health issues in the mining industry such as musculoskeletal injury and disorder, mental health, metabolic disorders, communication systems, and OH&S climate.